top of page
  • akinolamarian

Book Review: We need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo




This is the first book I'm reading from a Zimbabwean writer and I have to say, I'm impressed. The last time I was this impressed by an African author was when I binge-read all of Chimamanda Adichie's books in high school. Now she has another great writer competing for my affections.




We need new names by NoViolet Bulawayo is a coming-of-age story of Darling and her friends, residents of Paradise, a ghetto in Zimbabwe. At age 10, Darling, and other ludicrously named friends: Bastard, Godknows, Sbho, and Chipo go on crazy adventures: stealing guavas in elite neighborhoods, gate-crashing funerals, breaking into white-owned houses, and innocently trying to induce a miscarriage. 


As the narrator of the novel, Darling transitions from the shanty town Paradise to fulfilling her dream of moving to "destroyed michigan" (Detroit Michigan) in the United States and subsequently becoming an adult who has come to terms with the reality of immigrants. 


I find it unusual yet endearing that Bulawayo tells the story from the lens of a child. Aside from her exquisite language use and style of writing, this unique perspective grabbed my attention from the beginning.  Bulawayo has a mesmerizing literary voice that propels you to listen. I enjoyed how every scene had a story to tell and how she skillfully used relatable metaphors to tell these stories. 



The novel is filled with so much African culture and mannerisms. It captured the essence of what African stories are and should be. The plot is deep and thoughtful but still manages to be humorous. Although at one point, the plot seemed to lack cohesiveness. Some scenes were cut abruptly which left me wondering if a part of my copy was missing. Regardless, I think it adds to the charm of the novel. 



I mostly appreciate the story because I could relate to it. Seeing Zimbabwe's post-colonial troubles from Darling's perspective felt like I was looking at my country in a mirror and it wasn't a beautiful sight.   


One excerpt that stuck with me in this regard was: 


"We did not think about mending the tatters, all we thought was: Leave, abandon, flee, run—anything. Escape."

 

Thousands of Africans migrate abroad yearly in search of greener pastures. Nobody wants to stay and fight and you wouldn't blame us, the system is inherently rigged. As an African youth also in search of a better future, this resonated with me, and I couldn't help but weep for my continent.


"Leaving your country is like dying, and when you come back you are like a ghost returning to earth, roaming around with a missing gaze in your eyes."


Bulawayo also illustrates the dilemma of leaving your homeland even when you would rather not but the continent is eating up its youths and you need to escape to get a semblance of a good life. And then, you end up in a foreign land where you can only respond to people's distorted view of your homeland with the ineptitude to correct them.


 Immigrants leave their family, and friends, and the familiarity of home is replaced with the feeling of displacement and culture shock.


I could rant about the efficacy of Bulawayo's We need new names in telling the African story forever but the bottom line is that every African should read this book. I know it'll top my recommendations list for a long time. 


30 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page