top of page
  • akinolamarian

The death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi


I know she's considered a best-selling author but this might just be the first and last Akaweke book I'll read





The first time I heard of Akwaeke and how good of a writer she is was during her squabble with Chimamanda in 2022. Even though the whole issue did not compel me to read her books then, she's been on my radar since. Now, I'm low-key disappointed with the comparison people made between her and Chimamanda. No doubt, Akwaeke is a writer worthy of the name, but there are several miles of difference between her writing style and Chimamanda's.


My take on The death of Vivek Oji

The death of Vivek oji is a murder mystery that follows the life and circumstances of a young mixed-race Nigerian guy who experiences debilitating dissociative blackouts that leave him confused about his whereabouts. When Vivek's Mother finds him lifeless, wrapped in a cloth on her doorstep, she's determined to track how he died.


On a subjective note, So many words I can't pen down come to mind when describing Akwaeke's The death of Vivek Oji. Rather than using those words, I'll say she writes for a more open-minded target audience.


While reading, I'll sometimes have to pause and regain composure lest I lose my senses in Akwaeke's world. Don't get me wrong, I love a bold writer and a book that challenges the status quo, and even introduces creepiness of some sort. However, Akwaeke finds a way to exaggerate it. The plot kept escalating to a point where I couldn't decide if she was being serious or not.


I rated the book 4/5 on GoodReads because, while there were a lot of jump-scare moments, I loved the premise of the book and I honestly enjoyed reading it. The suspense kept me stuck and most of the characters had memorable personalities.


Would I recommend it?


Recommending The death of Vivek Oji goes both ways for me. If you don't mind amoral books that transcend ethical boundaries then you should totally pick this up. Otherwise, a judgemental reader might not find this appealing. The book also championed the LGTBQ+ orientation that some less open-minded readers might not be comfortable with.


On one hand, I'm hesitant to pick up another book by Akaweke as I'm still trying to recover from the last. On the other, I'm curious to see what other bizarre scenarios she unveils in her other books. I've heard The death of Vivek Oji is just the tip of the iceberg.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page