top of page
  • akinolamarian

My 2022 5-Star Reads




Literary-wise,  2022 was an adventure. I can remember moments when one of the things that kept me motivated was reading and looking forward to starting new recommendations from friends. I read books ranging from fiction to historical nonfiction and even dabbled into a little bit of self-help, which is unlike me. Unfortunately, I lost count of how many books I read this year and that's a mistake I'll be sure not to make next year. 


 Here are 5 books I'll give a total 5 stars out of the books I've read this year.  

  •  Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. 



The exact reason I loved this book was that it was different. Plot-wise, in characterization, and writing style, you can hardly see a book that's similar to Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo out there.  Evelyn Hugo's story was didactic, courageous and I found myself taking a few notes. 

  •  Of All Faiths & None by Andrew Tweeddale



Historical fiction isn't typically my cup of tea. I only read this because I had worked on a professional review but this book had me sobbing for days. It wasn't simply a beautiful story, it was tragically beautiful and those are the best kinds. 

  •    A Broken People's Playlist by Chimeka Garricks



This book is one of my most cherished gifts this year and that might be partly why it made it on this list. Chimeka Garricks is what I would call "a confirm Nigerian author"  His style is so original and honestly, reading this gave me a realistic yet outworldly experience.  I  especially love how he doesn't stop reminding readers he's a Portharcourt boy.  I enjoyed reading each short story one at a time and stalled completing the book. When I inevitably did, I  proceeded to read his first book Tomorrow Died Yesterday. This is sort of an honourable mention of the book which would have made my top 10 if this was a longer list.

  •  It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover



I know there's a new movement that this Colleen Hoover masterpiece is overrated but I disagree. In fact,  I don't trust the recs of anyone who doesn't like It ends with us. The emotions this book evoke is something only a few books can attempt. Colleen Hoover fans might disagree but this is her best novel. I've read some of her other acclaimed books and I'm yet to be proven wrong. Hopefully, I'll be in 2023.

  • Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid. 



My overall pick for 2022!  I'm not surprised that two of TJR's books made my list.  I'll never stop propagating the gospel of her brilliance. You can check out my full review of Daisy Jones and the six here.  This book had me in my feelings for weeks. It's one of those books you never forget. I still go back to read excerpts from it once in a while just to remind myself what good writing feels like. 

49 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page