top of page
  • akinolamarian

Ten Nigerian literature I wish I could read again for the first time


Nigerian literature has a lot to offer and it took me a while to realize that. I was immersed in Western books for a long time but after I picked up my first Nigerian book, I haven't looked back since then. Now, when people ask me for recommendations, I'm always happy to recommend Nigerian books.


Here are a few of the ones I'm always quick to recommend.



1. Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo


To be fair, I'd recommend anything by Ayobami Adebayo. But her debut novel, Stay with Me felt like home. The setting is familiar, and the story is unexpectedly touching.




















2. Daughters who walk this path by Yejide Kilanko





I was on a long-distance commute while reading this and I might have shed a tear or two. Set in the ancient city of Ibadan, the protagonist, Morayo's story is a familiar tragedy. It showcases women's resilience and the enduring bonds of sisterhood fashioned in the face of adversities.











3. The death of Vivek Orji by Akwaeke Emezi


As eccentric as I think Akaweke's books are, she's a proficient writer. This is one book that I appreciated the twist. While I have my reservations, I'd recommend it because it's actually quite good.

















4. Americanah by Chimamanda N. Adichie



Americanah is fast becoming a Nigerian classic literature. It is a thought-provoking exploration of identity, race, and the immigrant experience. Revisiting Ifemelu and Obinze's journey would be like reconnecting with old friends.







5. Wahala by Nikki May


The title says it all. Wahala by Nikki May is spicy, heartfelt, and relatable for Nigerian women, especially those in the diaspora





















6. My sister, the serial killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite




This was one of my very first contemporary Nigerian thrillers. I was attracted by the title and while reading, I remember thinking, I didn't know Nigerian writers were this good!



















7. I do not come to you by chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani



I had this in my TBR for a long time and I finally picked it up when I heard the movie is currently in the works. I finished it and I was very impressed. The plot is something an average Nigerian could relate to.





8. The girl with the louding voice by Abi Dare


At first, I was skeptical about this book because of the diction but I'm glad I didn't give up. The storyline and the relationship between the character is truly beautiful and heartfelt.




















9. His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie



Okay, this isn't Nigerian but it felt like it. His only wife has kind of a Ghanaian-Nigerian fusion setting and that's why it makes this list. The story explores the inherent polygamous nature of African society. I was quite furious when I was done.








10. A broken people's playlist by Chimeka Garricks



Chimeka has quickly become a personal favorite of mine. A Broken People's playlist is a compendium of short stories about individuals whose lives intersect one way or another. By the time you're done with the first story, you'll be invested.

















Bonus rec (because I couldn't resist)


The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives" by Lola Shoneyin




I was in high school when I first read Lola Shoneyin's debut novel, The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives. Since then, I've read it thrice over. It is a humorous yet poignant exploration of polygamy in Nigeria. Its witty narrative and unforgettable characters make it a book I'd love to experience afresh. It also has a very unexpected yet satisfying twist.



Although I can never truly read these books again for the first time, each re-read is an enriching experience.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page