top of page
  • akinolamarian

Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Updated: Nov 13, 2022








I can't emphasize this enough, Taylor Jenkins Reid is in a league of her own as an author. It's shocking that I've never come across her books until recently.


A friend recommended Daisy Jones and The Six to me after I was raving about The Seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo for weeks. She told me I hadn't seen the best of TJR, and she was right!


Book Summary


The story features the rise to fame of an iconic fictitious 70s band and, subsequently the addition of a seventh member (Daisy Jones) as a lead singer. The author explores rock and roll, family addiction and choices.


My Two Cents

First, Let's talk about TJR's writing style. I mentioned it in my former review of Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, but she really explores the uniqueness of her narrative technique in conveying Daisy Jones and the six's captivating story. While reading, I would sometimes pause and say to myself, "She's basically bragging about how good of a writer she is at this point". 


Reading Daisy Jones and the Six was like watching a movie. TJR was directing, and I could play the entire scene with my imagination. I also like how she added lyrics to befitting songs I assume she wrote herself, I could hear them play in my head. Honestly, TJR's books gets your imagination pumping. Daisy Jones and the six is aesthetically pleasing to the imagination and this shows how excellent of a writer TJR is. As a writer, I would love to see what goes on in TJR's mind.




It was difficult to believe that The Six were not a real band and that Daisy Jones, Billy and Camilla were fictional characters. Speaking of characters, I adore how all the female characters were strong, opinionated and also had a great relationship with each other despite their differences.


Would I recommend Daisy Jones and The Six? Absolutely. The novel is a 5 out of 5 read for me. Although I did disagree with some of the decisions the characters made on an ethical level, that did not stop me from falling in love with this masterpiece. 




PS:

I included some fan art and playlists I found while obsessing over the book.











28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page