top of page
  • akinolamarian

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid: Book Review




Spoiler alert, I have nothing critical to say about this book.  Evelyn Hugo has to be one of the most iconic characters I've ever read.  The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid is a story of a woman trying to get by in a man's world, and I was completely mesmerised by it.


A quick run-down of the plot


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo tells the fictional story of Evelyn Hugo, a Hollywood femme fatale in the 80s. Evelyn has lived a full life, her name on the lips of the masses for decades for her thrilling lifestyle. At 79, Evelyn is ready to tell her story, especially to answer the most anticipated question_how did she marry and divorce Seven husbands?


To everyone's surprise, Evelyn picks no-name journalist Monique Grant to publish her story. Regardless of why the Hollywood legend picked her, Monique is determined to use Evelyn's story to catapult herself to the limelight. She is, however, to find out how the unfortunate way she fits into Evelyn's story. 


My thoughts


The storyline was a breath of fresh air. I had successively picked up average books before reading this Taylor Jekins Reid masterpiece, so I was dazzled. I stayed up all night trying to find out what was going to happen next, guessing the next famous person Evelyn was going to snag as her husband and brainstorming her connection with Monique. I came up with a bunch of conspiracy theories, but the ending was not what I expected. 


Evelyn's life is a rollercoaster, and I was not going to miss any bit of it. She is a flawed, complicated, condescending, yet loveable character. She's brave, ambitious and unyielding in her resolve to claw her way to the top, and she succeeds, using the only tool she has at her disposal, her beauty. 


Fictional or not, Jenkins also gave insights into the ills of the Hollywood industry.  I particularly liked the LGBTQ plot twist at the beginning of the story; It solidified Evelyn's story and identity. 


Lessons and Recommendations

The major lesson I picked from Evelyn Hugo's story is that there are different kinds of love. You could love multiple persons wholeheartedly but in different ways, and that was normal.


 Overall, the book was empowering, and it goes without saying that I recommend it.


35 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page